The federation

The Québec funeral cooperatives movement, in a few figures:

  • 20 member funeral cooperatives
  • over 200,000 members
  • over 100 points of service
  • over 600 employees
  • 315 volunteer administrators, people known for their community engagement
  • consolidated sales of $53 million
  • $253 million in assets
  • over 11,000 families served every year

The Federation of Funeral Cooperatives of Québec is the umbrella structure for all the funeral cooperatives in Québec. Founded in 1987, the Federation currently has 20 member cooperatives all across Québec.

These 20 cooperatives today handle over 90% of the deaths managed by all the funeral cooperatives of Québec. Its head office is located in Sherbrooke.

Its general meeting is comprised of representatives of each of the member cooperatives. Decisions are made democratically on the basis of one cooperative, one vote, regardless of the size of any particular cooperative’s membership or sales.

Our mission

To organize funeral cooperatives for the purpose of developing common services and promoting cooperative development in the field of funeral services.

Structure of the Federation

The general meeting of the Federation elects a board of directors composed of seven persons who must come from seven different cooperatives, thereby ensuring greater representativeness for the cooperatives in the movement.

In order to keep membership dues to a minimum, the Federation has adopted a light and flexible structure. It has only four permanent employees, and hires contract workers as required to carry out specific mandates.

The general managers convene three times a year to exchange information and follow up on the mandates assigned by the board of directors. In addition, the presidents meet twice a year to ensure political follow-up for the issues before the Federation.

In 2013, the members elected the following administrators to the Federation’s board of directors:

President : Réjean Laflamme, Coopérative funéraire Brunet
Vice-president : Gaston Tardif, Coopérative funéraire du Bas-St-Laurent
Secretary : Aline Chalifoux, Coopérative funéraire de la Rive-Sud de Montréal
Treasurer : Gilles Kelly, Coopérative funéraire de la Capitale
Administrator : Rachel Didier, Coopérative funéraire de l'Île de Montréal
Administrator : Michel Lafleur, Coopérative funéraire de l’Estrie
Administrator : Gilles Marseille, Résidence funéraire de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue